A Guide to Cooktops:

What You Should Know When Buying a Cooktop

There is an assortment of features, configurations and fuel types for cooktops on the market. Because of the variety, it can be challenging to select the right one for your kitchen.

If you’re considering adding a cooktop to your kitchen, here are some things to think about.

Maytag Cooktop

What is the difference between a cooktop and a rangetop?

Maytag Cooktop

Cooktops

Cooktops are fueled by either gas or electricity. They can be installed in countertops, the controls affixed on the horizontal plane. Since the infrastructural requirements are fewer, they can usually fit into spaces where a rangetop can not.

Maytag Rangetop

Rangetops

Most rangetops are powered solely by gas. You can choose from two design options: professional or commercial. Many units feature details like heavy-duty knobs and grates and can be installed above a countertop, over the edge with the controls in a vertical position.

Rangetops are not available through Maytag.

Fuel Types

Deciding Between Two Options

A cooktop’s response time is influenced by the fuel type. Gas and induction ones adapt well to variances in temperature. Radiant cooktops, though, can take a bit more time.

Maytag Gas Cooktop burner

Gas Cooktops

Powered by natural gas or propane, gas cooktops are a popular choice for chefs due to their precise burner control and ability to heat quickly. Gas has the ability to deliver a nice sear or the right amount of heat for gentle simmering or wok cooking.

Shop All

Electric Cooktops

Electric cooktops come in three options: radiant, induction or coil.

Maytagl Radiant Cooktop burner

Radiant Cooktops

Radiant cooktops have a clean design and responsive elements that are able to reach high temperatures. Because of its smooth surface, cleaning them is easier than gas cooktops. Certain models have burners that expand and contract. This allows them to better match the size of a pot. They also have a protective coating to help negate scratching.

Shop All
Maytag Radiant Cooktop burner Maytag Induction Cooktop burner

Induction Cooktops

Induction cooktops may function differently than other types of cooktops. They work via a coiled copper wire that transfers an electric current underneath the cooktop. This creates a magnetic current that travels throughout the cooking apparatus. This is important because heat doesn’t have to divert through the cooking surface and instead can go directly to the cooking vessel. The result is that they can typically cook in less time and more efficient than their radiant and gas counterparts. Induction cooktops have a flat and level surface, which helps you clean with greater ease. The burners expand and contract, which is key to helping match a burner to the size of a pot and can offer increased versatility. Induction cooktops offer what many consider to be impressive precision, so you can cook at a high temperature or a low heat. This way you can sear a steak or melt chocolate with the same level of ease. Induction Cooktops are not available through Maytag.

For cookware to perform adequately on most induction cooktops, it has to be made of a magnetic metal. To test if a pan will work on an induction cooktop, simply hold a magnet close to it. If the magnet is attracted to the pan’s surface, it can be used. You can also run a compatibility test by placing the pan on the cooktop. If the display flashes or you hear a distinct clicking sound, then the pan can not be used. Remember, the right pans deliver better cooking results.

Some radiant and induction cooktops are WiFi enabled. This grants owners access to remotely monitor and control certain cooktop features, including, in some cases, the ability to communicate with the ventilation hood, which normally operates based on the burner’s activity. Connected cooktops are not available through Maytag.
Maytag Coil Cooktop burner

Coil Cooktops

Coil cooktops are typically less expensive than some other options. The downside is that they generally take more time and effort to clean.

Coil cooktops are not available through Maytag.

Cooktop Power & Elements

Gas burners are measured in British Thermal Units (BTUs). The formula is simple: the higher the BTU output, the higher the heat produced which is useful for searing meats, (15,000 + BTUs). A lower BTU output means a lower heat, ideal for melting butter (5000 BTUs).

Radiant, induction and coil burners are measured in watts. The higher the wattage the higher the heat. This is beneficial for searing various meats (2000 watts). A lower wattage results in a lower heat to help simmer sauces (1000 watts).

Certain radiant and induction cooktops can accommodate Grill and Griddles with bridge elements. The elements typically range in size from 4” - 12” (10.2 cm to 30.5 cm) to match the majority of pot sizes.

Size & Burners Available

Maytag Cooktop Burner

Looking for a cooktop to fit with your existing kitchen space? There are several available sizes to help you out.

Cooktop sizes come in a range of widths, including 30”, 36” and 48”. For smaller kitchens, certain brands offer 15” and 24” widths. There are significant variances in depth based on the model and fuel type but the typical range is between 20” and 28” deep.

A cooktop’s width determines the number of burners. You will usually find 1-2 burners on a 15” cooktop. 4-5 burners on 24” and 30” cooktops and 5-6 burners on 36” cooktops. If you are looking for more, 8 burners may be available on models that are 48” or instead of additional burners you could have the option of installing a Grill or Griddle.

STYLE AND COLOR

Maytag Cooktop Knobs

Built-in cooktops are usually available in black and stainless steel. However, several other styles and colours are offered to complement the design of your kitchen. Induction and electric cooktops are considered to have a more modern or contemporary look while gas cooktops have a more classic feel. Black tops are often edged in stainless steel. Some models come with knobs whereas others feature touch control.

Configurations

Extra configurations are available for certain cooktops.

Downdraft Cooktop

Downdraft cooktops have a ventilation system installed inside the below cabinet that sucks smokes and odours directly from the cooking surface. This system adds flexibility because it removes the need for an additional overhead ventilation hood. This can help create a more open feel in the kitchen. Downdraft cooktops offer a variety of venting options. Downdraft Cooktops with Grill and Griddle options are not available through Maytag.

If you choose a downdraft cooktop you will need proper external venting. This system requires open space underneath a counter or a proper external floor or wall ventilation in order to be installed. Carefully review the installation instructions for any cooktops. We advise consulting with your builder or cabinet supplier to confirm that your cabinet materials are of a good enough quality to withstand any potential damage that could occur while the ventilation system is functioning.

Grill & Griddle

Improve versatility with the addition of a Grill and Griddle. Only available with some cooktops.

 Maytag Grill Attachment

Grill

Enjoy grilled meats, vegetables and seafood no matter the time of the year with a Grill in your kitchen.

Griddle Cooktop

Griddle

Typically, a Griddle is a large cooking surface that is adept at grilling sandwiches or making pancakes, eggs, hamburgers, vegetables and a ton of other popular foods.

Cooktops with Grill and Griddle options are not available through Maytag. However,
some Maytag electric cooktops come with Reversible Grill and Griddle attachment

INSTALLATION

Whirlpool Cooktop

Cooktops are usually installed on a countertop against a wall. To achieve a more engaging kitchen vibe, a cooktop can be installed into an island. Certain wall oven models can be installed below a cooktop. It’s recommended, though, to give thought to ventilation when deciding on your cooktop location. Wherever you choose to install your cooktop, check that there is sufficient room for the ventilation installation per the provided requirements.

Whirlpool Cooktop

Most cooktops extend slightly beyond countertops. Those that are flush usually belong to luxury radiant and induction cooktop brands.

Follow the manufacturer’s templates and installation guides to cut the countertop to fit a cooktop.

FEATURED COOKTOPS

Guide des tables de cuisson :

Ce que vous devez savoir avant d’acheter une table de cuisson

Il existe différentes caractéristiques, configurations et types d’alimentation pour les tables de cuisson sur le marché. En raison de cette variété, il peut être difficile de choisir celle qui convient à votre cuisine.

Si vous pensez vous procurer une table de cuisson pour votre cuisine, il y a plusieurs éléments à prendre en considération.

Maytag Cooktop

Quelle est la différence entre une table de cuisson traditionnelle
et une table de cuisson commerciale?

Whirlpool Cooktop

Tables de cuisson

Les tables de cuisson sont alimentées soit au gaz soit à l’électricité. Elles peuvent être installées sur les comptoir, les commandes fixées sur le plan horizontal. Étant donné que les exigences d’application sont moindres, elles peuvent souvent s’installer dans des espaces où une cuisinière ne tiendrait pas.

Rangetop burner

Tables de cuisson professionnelles

La plupart des tables de cuisson commerciales sont alimentées au gaz. Vous pouvez choisir parmi 2 options de design : professionnel ou commercial. De nombreux modèles sont dotés de détails tels que des boutons et grilles robustes et peuvent être installés sur un comptoir, sur rebord avec les commandes en position verticale.

Maytag n’offre pas de tables de cuisson commerciales

Types d'alimentation.

Choisir parmi les deux options

Le temps de réponse d’une table de cuisson est influencé par le type d’alimentation. Les modèles au gaz et à induction s’adaptent bien aux variations de température. Les tables de cuisson radiantes par contre, peuvent prendre un peu plus de temps.

Whirlpool Gas Cooktops burner

Tables de cuisson au gaz

Alimentées par du gaz naturel ou propane, ces tables de cuisson sont un choix idéal pour les chefs en raison de la précision procurée par les brûleurs et leur capacité de chauffer rapidement. Le gaz peut saisir efficacement ou procurer la bonne quantité de chaleur pour un mijotage délicat ou une cuisson au wok.

Magasiner tout

Tables de cuisson électriques

Les tables de cuisson électriques sont offertes en trois options : radiantes, à induction ou à serpentins

Whirlpool Radiant Cooktop burner

Tables de cuisson radiantes

Les tables de cuisson radiantes sont de conception épurée avec des éléments réactifs capables d’atteindre de hautes températures. Grâce à leur surface lisse, elles sont plus faciles à nettoyer que les tables de cuisson au gaz. Certains modèles sont dotés de brûleurs qui s’étendent et se contractent. Ils s’adaptent ainsi plus facilement aux différentes tailles de casseroles. Ces tables de cuisson sont également dotées d’un revêtement protecteur pour éviter les égratignures.

Magasiner tout
Whirlpool Radiant Cooktop burner Whirlpool Induction Cooktop burner

Tables de cuisson à induction

Les tables de cuisson à induction peuvent fonctionner différemment des autres types de tables de cuisson. Un courant électrique passe dans un serpentin de fils de cuivre sous la surface de cuisson. Cela crée un courant magnétique qui circule dans la batterie de cuisine. Cela est important dans la mesure où la chaleur n’a pas besoin de passer par la surface de cuisson et se rend directement dans la casserole. Le résultat est que les tables de cuisson à induction cuisent plus rapidement et plus efficacement que les tables de cuisson au gaz ou radiantes. Les tables à induction offrent une surface lisse et nivelée, facilitant leur nettoyage. Les éléments s’étendent ou se contractent afin de s’adapter à la taille de vos casseroles, vous offrant une plus grande polyvalence. Les tables de cuisson à induction offrent ce que de nombreux cuisiniers considèrent une précision impressionnante, vous permettant une cuisson à haute température ou un mijotage lent. Vous pouvez ainsi saisir un steak ou faire fondre du chocolat avec la même précision.

Maytag n’offre pas de tables de cuisson à induction.

Pour que les batteries de cuisine fonctionnent correctement sur les surfaces de cuisson à induction, elles doivent se composer d’un métal magnétique. Afin de déterminer si une casserole fonctionne sur l’induction, approchez simplement un aimant de sa base. S’il adhère à la surface, alors votre casserole est compatible. Une autre façon de déterminer la compatibilité est de placer la casserole sur la surface elle-même. Si l’affichage clignote ou vous entendez un clic, alors la casserole n’est pas compatible. N’oubliez pas, la casserole adéquate fournit de meilleurs résultats de cuisson.

Certaines tables de cuisson radiantes et à induction offertes sur le marché se connectent au WiFi. Cela permet aux propriétaires de surveiller et contrôler à distance certaines fonctions de la table de cuisson, y compris, dans certains cas, la possibilité de communiquer avec la hotte de ventilation, qui se met en marche et s’arrête généralement en fonction de l’activité du brûleur.

Maytag n’offre pas de tables de cuisson connectées.
Whirlpool Coil Cooktop burner

Tables de cuisson à serpentins

Les tables de cuisson à serpentin sont généralement plus abordables que les autres options. Elles sont par contre plus longues et difficiles à nettoyer.

Maytag n’offre pas de tables de cuisson à serpentins.

Puissance et éléments des tables de cuisson

simple : plus la puissance en BTU est élevée, plus la chaleur est forte, ce qui est pratique pour saisir des viandes (plus de 15 000 BTU). Une puissance en BTU inférieure permet une chaleur plus douce, essentielle pour faire fondre du chocolat (5000 BTU).

Les éléments radiants, à induction et à serpentins sont mesurés en watts. Une puissance en watts plus élevée correspond à une chaleur plus haute. Cela est pratique pour saisir des variétés de steaks (2000 watts). Une puissance en watts moins élevée correspond à une chaleur plus douce, pour faire mijoter les sauces (1000 watts).

Certaines tables de cuisson radiantes et à induction peuvent accueillir des grils et plaques chauffantes grâce aux éléments de liaison. La taille de leurs éléments varie entre 4 po et 12 po ( 10,2 cm et 30,5 cm) afin de correspondre à la plupart des tailles de batteries de cuisine.

Tailles et brûleurs disponibles

Whirlpool Radiant Cooktop

Vous recherchez une table de cuisson qui convient à votre espace actuel? Différentes tailles sont offertes pour convenir le mieux à vos besoins.

Les tables de cuisson sont offertes en largeurs variées, de 30 po, 36 po et 48 po. Pour les petits espaces, certaines marques offrent des tables de cuisson en largeurs de 15 et 24 pouces. La profondeur peut varier de façon significative en fonction du modèle et du type d’alimentation; mais la fourchette normale est entre 20 et 28 po de profondeur.

La largeur d’une table de cuisson détermine généralement le nombre de brûleurs qu’elle comporte. Vous trouverez généralement de 1 à 2 brûleurs sur une table de 15 po, 4 à 5 sur les tables de 24 et 30 po et 5 à 6 sur les tables de 36 po. Si vous en recherchez plus, 8 brûleurs pourraient être offerts sur les modèles de 48 po ou bien vous pourriez avoir l’option d’installer un gril ou une plaque chauffante.

Style et couleur

Whirlpool Cooktop

Les tables de cuisson encastrées sont généralement offertes en noir et en acier inoxydable. Cependant, d’autres styles et couleurs sont offerts pour compléter le design de votre cuisine. Les tables de cuisson à induction et électriques sont considérées comment ayant un aspect plus moderne ou contemporain tandis que les tables de cuisson au gaz ont un aspect plus classique. Certains modèles sont dotés de boutons tandis que d’autres sont dotés de commandes tactiles.

Configuration

D’autres options de configuration sont disponibles pour certaines tables de cuisson.

Downdraft Cooktop

Les tables de cuisson à évacuation descendante sont dotées d’un système de ventilation sous l’armoire qui absorbe les fumées et les odeurs directement de la surface de cuisson. Ce système ajoute une certaine polyvalence car il élimine le besoin d’une hotte de ventilation supplémentaire. Cela peut aider à créer une atmosphère plus ouverte dans la cuisine. Les tables de cuisson à évacuation descendante offrent une variété d’options de ventilation.

Maytag n’offre pas de tables de cuisson à évacuation descendante avec gril et plaque de cuisson.

Si vous choisissez une table de cuisson à évacuation descendante, vous aurez besoin d’un système de ventilation externe approprié. Ce système requiert un espace ouvert sous un comptoir ou une aération au sol ou sur le mur avec évacuation vers l’extérieur. Vérifiez attentivement les instructions d’installation pour toute table de cuisson. Nous vous recommandons de consulter votre constructeur ou votre fournisseur d’armoires pour confirmer que les matériaux utilisés sont d’une qualité suffisante pour faire face à tout dommage potentiel pouvant se produire pendant le fonctionnement du système de ventilation.

GRILS ET PLAQUES CHAUFFANTES

Ajoutez un gril ou une plaque chauffante pour davantage de polyvalence. Elles ne sont disponibles que pour certaines tables de cuisson.

Steak on Grill

Gril

Dégustez des viandes grillées, légumes et fruits de mer quelle que soit l’époque de l’année avec un gril dans votre cuisine.

Griddle Cooktop

Plaque chauffante

Une plaque chauffante est une grande surface de cuisson qui permet de faire griller des sandwiches ou de cuire des crêpes, hamburgers, légumes et bien d’autres mets populaires.

Les options de gril et plaque chauffante ne sont pas offertes par Maytag.
Cependant, certaines tables de cuisson électriques sont dotées d’un accessoire de gril et plaque chauffante réversible.

INSTALLATION

Whirlpool Cooktop

Les tables de cuisson s’installent généralement sur un comptoir contre le mur ou sur un îlot. Pour créer une ambiance plus conviviale dans la cuisine, la table de cuisson peut être installée sur un îlot. Certains modèles de fours muraux peuvent être installés sous une table de cuisson. Lorsque vous décidez de l’endroit où installer votre table de cuisson, il est important de prendre en compte la ventilation. Vous devez assurer qu’il y a suffisamment d’espace pour installer un système de ventilation convenant aux exigences fournies.

Whirlpool Cooktop

La plupart des tables de cuisson font légèrement saillie. Celles qui sont entièrement affleurantes proviennent généralement des marques de luxe de table de cuisson radiantes ou à induction.

Suivez les modèles et guides d’installation du fabricant pour des instructions sur la façon de couper les comptoirs et installer une table de cuisson.

MODÈLES DE TABLE DE CUISSON